## LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR PANEL

## 26 SEPTEMBER 2022

Present: Councillor Merry(Chairperson)

Councillors Dilwar Ali, Driscoll, Hopkins, Lister and Robson

Also Present - Barbara Connell (Cardiff Governors Representative)

80 : APOLOGIES FOR ABSÈNCE

No apologies for absence were received.

81 : DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

The following declarations were received in accordance with the Members Code of Conduct.

The following declarations of interest were received in accordance with the Members Code of Conduct.

Councillor	School	Nature of Interest
Councillor Merry	6a – Roath Park Primary School	Prejudicial – Knows applicant well and is referee.
Councillor Lister	6a – Roath Park Primary School	Personal – Knows applicant well
Councillor Driscoll	6b – Danescourt Primary School	Prejudical - Knows applicant well and is fellow School Governor
Councillor Driscoll	6a – Coed Glas Primary School	Personal – Knows applicant well
Councillor Hopkins	6b – Llanishen High School	Personal – Applicant is well known
Councillor Robson	6a – Coed Glas Primary School	Personal – Applicant is well known
Councillor Robson	6b – Llanishen High School	Prejudicial – The applicant is a fellow councillor and is referee
Councillors Merry, Dilwar Ali, Driscoll, Hopkins, Lister and Robson	6a - Moorland Primary School	Personal – The applicant is a fellow Councillor
Councillors Merry, Dilwar Ali, Driscoll, Hopkins, Lister and Robson	6a - St David's Catholic College	Personal – The applicant is a fellow Councillor
Councillors Merry, Dilwar Ali, Driscoll, Hopkins, Lister and Robson	6a – Ysgol Gymraeg Melin Gruffydd	Personal – The applicant is a fellow Councillor
Councillors Merry, Dilwar Ali, Driscoll, Hopkins, and Lister	6b – Llanishen High School	Personal – The applicant is a fellow Councillor
Councillors Merry, Dilwar Ali, Driscoll, Hopkins, Lister and Robson	6b – Ysgol Gymraeg Treganna	Personal – The applicant is a fellow Councillor

82 : MINUTES

The minutes of the last meeting were approved as a correct record of the meeting.

83 : LOCAL AUTHORITY SCHOOL GOVERNOR VACANCIES

The Committee received the list of vacancies for Local Authority Governors.

RESOLVED - To note the list of vacancies received.

84 : EXCLUSION OF THE PUBLIC

The Committee RESOLVED that the public be excluded for the following items of business as they contain exempt information by virtue of Paragraph 12 and 21 of Parts 4 and 5 of the Local Government Act 1972.

85 : NOMINATIONS TO LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR VACANCIES

The Chair left the meeting during the discussion of the application for Roath Park Primary School. Councillor Ashley Lister was nominated to take the Chair but reaffirmed is personal interest.

Councillor Sean Driscoll left the meeting during the discussion of the application for Danescourt Primary School.

Councillor Adrian Robson left the meeting during the discussion of the application for Llanishen High School.

The Committee received and considered applications to current vacancies against criteria, matching skills to vacancies.

RESOLVED – That the Council be recommended to approve the recommendations of the Panel to appoint the following persons to current Local Authority Governing Body vacancies as follows:

School Name	Ward	Start of Vacancy	Applications Received
Cardiff West Community High School	Ely	16/03/2022	Alexandra Nita
Coed Glas Primary School	Llanishen	01/05/2020 31/01/2022	Kathryn Howells Rob Sutton
Eastern High X 2 vacancies	Trowbridge	27/04/2022 01/09/2022	Martin Weinel Gordon Plant
Gabalfa Primary School	Llandaff North	28/01/2022	Tom Woolley
Hywel Dda Primary School X 2 vacancies	Ely	29/03/2022 01/07/2022	Mahrin Fayyaz
Llanishen High	Llanishen	27/06/2022	Barbara Cooke

School		31/08/2022	Gareth Bryon
Moorland Primary School	Splott	13/12/2021	Cllr Margaret Lewis
Ninian Park Primary School	Grangetown	24/06/2022	Aliyah Hussain
Pentrebane Primary School	Fairwater	11/03/2022	Lisa Clayton
Roath Park Primary School	Plasnewydd	22/07/2022	Hannah McCarthy
St Cuthberts RC Primary School	Butetown	31/07/2022	David Saunders
St Fagan's C.W Primary School	Ely	13/05/2022	Elizabeth Nicholas
The Oaks Federation	Rumney & Trowbridge	22/07/2022	Jeff Kidner
The Western Learning Campus	Caerau	08/01/2022	Raven Hope
Ysgol Glan Ceubal	Llandaff North	01/09/2022	Mark Flagg
Ysgol Gymraeg Melin Gruffydd	Whitchurch & Tongwynlais	01/08/2021	Cllr Jamie Green

The Committee received and considered applications to future vacancies against criteria, matching skills to vacancies.

RESOLVED – That the Council be recommended to approve the recommendations of the Panel to appoint the following persons to future Local Authority Governing Body vacancies as follows:

School Name	Ward	Start of Vacancy	Applications Received
Allensbank Primary School	Gabalfa	30/11/2022	Anthony Powell
Bryn Deri Primary Schoo	Radyr & Morganstown	01/01/2023	Angharad Thomas Richards
Danescourt Primary School	Llandaff	28/11/2022	Marie John
Llanishen High School	Llanishen	30/11/2022	Cllr John Lancaster
Ninian Park Primary School	Grangetown	30/11/2022	Joseph Edwards
Pontprennau Primary School	Pontprennau & Old St Mellons	30/11/2022	Suzannah Edmondson
		30/11/2022	John Morley
Rhiwbeina Primary School	Rhiwbina	28/09/2022	Dr Samuel Williams
The Bishop of Llandaff C.W High School	Llandaff	26/09/2022	Efe Igurube
Ysgol Gymraeg Treganna	Canton	28/09/2022	Cllr Susan Elsmore Sharon Krause
		28/11/2022	

86 : URGENT ITEMS (IF ANY)

No urgent items were received.

87 : DATE OF NEXT MEETING

The date of the next meeting is on Tuesday 15 November 2022 at 5 pm.

The meeting terminated at 5.45 pm